Catching up 2 days

Sunday was a fun day riding from Groton, MA to Putnam, CT. I found a route that would cut off 10 miles but wouldn’t go through RI. I was going to do it alone but Suzanne came with me. Good thing!

Very early on we were on a beautiful river trail. I hit a bump and apparently my bag wasn’t zipped closed. About 6 miles later we needed to check the route map and I reached for my phone in my bag and … it was missing.

We are all using an app called Life360 so we know where the others are. It tracks where one’s phone is. We saw it was on the trail so we went zooming back to get it. About the time we got to where it was last seen, we saw it was moving so we went like speed racers up towards the trail head. As we approached a woman with a stroller and a dog she turned around and asked, “Are you Kelley?”

She had already sent me an email saying she had found it. She refused any reward and was incredibly sweet.

If I hadn’t had Suzanne’s phone, I would have been sunk.

But, our “saving 10 miles” plan went “poof”. We had a couple of other diverts, but overall the rest of the ride was awesome! Suzanne is fun to ride with. We’re paced about the same and she likes to talk!

These are the photos from yesterday. The first are from the Wachusetts Dam and Reservoir in Clinton, MA. There was still a bit of fog on the water but there were NO bad views!

9.17-1

9-17-2

9.17-3

9.17-4

A while after the dam we found a great diner to get some breakfast.

9.17-5

9.17-8

9.17-9

When we got to Putnam I needed to do laundry so I loaded up my panniers and headed a mile to town. There was a Thai restaurant nearby so I indulged while my clothes ran.

9.17-10

We were staying at the YMCA which was at the other end of a beautiful river side trail. I, of course, asked if they provided bike safety classes or learn to ride or a rodeo. They were very excited about that idea for the spring so I found some information about their local bike club and advocacy groups. Always happy to pass on the bike love!

Here are some photos of the river from the trail.

9.17-11

9.17-12

9.17-13

When I was riding back to the Y in the twilight I heard mad quacking noise. As I came around a curve I saw a man sitting on a bench near the water surrounded by a bunch of ducks quacking up a storm! He was throwing food to them. Bad for the ducks, but he looked like he was having fun with friends.

Then I ran into a cloud of gnats. Ick. So happy I hadn’t showered yet! The great thing about staying at the Y is that we had unfettered access to the showers so I had time to get clean without going off-site (unusual for these rides). And, I also had time to clean my chain.

Today we rode from Putnam to Granby, CT. I was to meet my uncle in Granby at 3 so he could take me to see my grandmother. When we got to the SAG vehicle in Stafford Springs I knew I probably wasn’t going to make it to Granby in time to also get a shower, so I sagged from there. The first part of today had SO many hills, and at least one 7 mile detour from the route. Since I was short on time I didn’t take any photos today until I got to see my grandmother, but will share that tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

