Southwest Riding

I’m in Texas right now visiting my mom in El Paso. I am increasingly impressed with the city’s implementation of bike infrastructure in the newer areas, and retrofitting the older neighborhoods as possible.

Yesterday when I was riding out to the eastern limits of the city, I enjoyed a lovely bike lane that went on for about five miles. Because this is the desert and there severe water restrictions, many people have xeriscape landscaping, i.e. rocks. I was impressed to see a HUGE dog park for people whose furry friends need something kinder to their little paws. Not only did the city planners think of the dogs, but … check THIS out!

bikelane

And people actually comply with it – at least most of them did yesterday (of course, there’s one guy who ignored it). But I was impressed that the no parking signs were on both sides of the road. I don’t think I’ve ever seen signs at home that reinforce the idea that bike lanes are not alternative parking or loading lanes!

Yesterday I only did 20 as I didn’t have my clips on the bike and it needed some handlebar tweaking as well.

After a visit to Crazy Cat Cyclery yesterday afternoon, all was well, so this morning I went out for a 30 mile ride.  I stayed on that road to the east to see how far it would go. When I got this far, I started laughing and decided you needed to enjoy this as well.

celltowertree

It doesn’t matter how much they build up the housing in that area, or how much vegetation they plant — that cell tower will NEVER look normal. I guess when you look at the catalog to order your ‘cell tower camouflage’ there aren’t a whole lot of options.

And on Sunday morning we were in the park early at White Sands National Monument in order to enjoy these:

 

and many others!

Leave a Reply

