Perfect Biking Weather

Yesterday and today have been perfect cycling weather. Yesterday I didn’t get out until nearly 11 but managed to ride 45 miles before I was finished. I rode out to Leesburg to have lunch at Yummy Pig, my friends’ BBQ restaurant. (Note: they are now open on Mondays too – go check them out!)

Today was the first time Amy and I have been able to bike together. It was a little more humid today than yesterday but still awesome. We met at 8 and rode fast out to Leesburg to South Street Under for coffee.

On our way back from Leesburg we saw these guys circling. Fortunately, they were just enjoying the breeze, not eyeing us for snacks.

buzzards

One of the interesting places along the trail is the Luckstone Quarry. It’s a huge operation, and although it’s difficult to see the scar of the mining, Luckstone seems to be a good neighbor to the trail. Where their access road crosses the W&OD, their trucks are always VERY careful and respectful of trail users. Also, the viewing area above the quarry allows people to see how cool the operation is. Today, because of the nice weather, it was a good place to take a breather (there’s a port a potty there).

Looking at the vehicles gives you an idea of the scale of this place!

We parted ways back at Green Lizard where she headed home and I kept going. I rode through Reston and down to Hunter Mill where I made a quick turn and rode up Hunter Station. This was my first time doing it on the Surly Straggler and I’m happy to say I stayed on the bike (no walking) and actually still had another gear to go to if I needed it!  Woo-hoo!

Total miles today: 42.2 on the Straggler

 

Leave a Reply

