Sometimes, it’s not the bike

Sometimes it’s your bike shorts!

I lost quite a bit of weight over the trip this summer, so lots of my clothes fit me differently. Because today is a little cooler, I decided to try a pair of my older padded capri style bike pants. They’re made by aerotech and have a cool lime-green lightning pattern on them. They’re made in the USA!

I needed to pick the Straggler up from Green Lizard where it had been getting road tires. I think I could have camouflaged in there. The capris, a green tech wear shirt, bright green socks, a lime green bandana, and of course, my lime green Road ID wristband.

I left the shop and headed south to check out a route for the 55+ ride I’ll be leading for my community in the first week of October. There’s been a lot of construction in the area we’re riding towards since the last time I led the ride, so I was hoping more streets were finished.

The good news is that there ARE more streets. The bad news is that they’re not very helpful. My main issue is getting all these folks across the bridge to the Udvar-Hazy Air & Space Annex. It’s an interchange for Rt. 28.

Screenshot 2016-09-04 at 3.14.59 PM

Riding it today, I felt very vulnerable – and I rode the shoulders of highways all over the place this summer! To ride over an interchange with shifting lanes and fast moving cars requires a level of confidence that many riders lack. I wish I could think of a way to get there without having to cross it, but there simply isn’t one.

After checking the situation out (I didn’t go into the museum as I did not have a lock for my bike) I rode back home. I had considered continuing to explore on the bike with the new tires so I could up my miles.

But…the bike pants. They’re just not comfortable. The chamois is shaped wrong or cut with edges or something, but I needed to get home to get out of them!

Screenshot 2016-09-04 at 3.26.02 PMI have now remembered why they’ve been languishing in the drawer. After a thorough wash, they’ll be going to the donation bin. Perhaps they will fit someone else’s shape better!

Leave a Reply

