Pure Joy

My bike went in the shop yesterday for it’s “pre-cross-country tune-up”. Everything was tightened, lubed, adjusted … so today I got on to check it out.

The first two miles were, as always, “Shut up legs”, and then I got into my zen zone. It didn’t hurt that today is DRY and slightly overcast. I  just meandered through some neighborhoods and got on the Fairfax County Parkway trail to head south. Before I knew it I had racked up 12 miles and had a big grin on my face.

As I circled to head back I cut through some neighborhoods that were new to me (always looking for new routes). The ‘safe’ spaces for biking are expanding more and more in Fairfax County and I’m grateful!

I eventually found myself at Green Lizard Cycling (what a surprise, yes?). I stopped and called my son to see if he wanted to meet for lunch somewhere before he leaves this afternoon. Not surprising, he agreed and we met at Reston Town Center and split a Ted’s Bulletin burger. Yum…and even split, more than enough food for both of us!

The sun came out and it was a glorious day. So, 19 miles and the bike is doing beautifully and I’m feeling good. SWEET!

Leave a Reply

